Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

WTK Playlist: 7 Music Videos We Can’t Get Enough Of

With a lot of catchy songs coming out one after another, K-pop practically has an endless list of titles from which to choose! Whatever preference you have or whatever mood you’re in, everyone has certain K-pop tracks that become perfectly nestled into their personally curated playlists.

Check out some of the songs that are we constantly have on repeat!

1. KARD – “Red Moon”

Known for their fierce music that is often infused with a healthy dose of Latin influence, co-ed group KARD channels a sensual aggression in “Red Moon.”

Each member revels in hard-hitting beats while being an unapologetically stunning vision as they seamlessly flow from one move to another. The boys are charismatic enough on their own, but Jiwoo just commands your attention on-screen. In addition, Somin‘s pigtailed look is something that should be singled out for being sweet and cheeky at the same time. Ma’am, it should be illegal to be that cute!

2. MCND – “Ice Age”

Top Media‘s newest project introduced themselves to the K-pop world with a stunning display of skills and charisma. The music video for their debut track “Ice Age” and has gathered, as of writing, over 26 million views!

MCND took to the the stage like seasoned artists, navigating complex choreographies while showing off their musicality with ease. The way these guys performed in the music video showed none of the awkwardness with which many rookies might struggle. Neither overcompensating or underwhelming, the group plays with the camera comfortably and effortlessly.

Special mentions to BIC‘s easy smiles and Minjae‘s more flirtatious ones that were particularly notable (from a personal perspective) while watching the whole thing. What dangerous weapons to lure in unsuspecting fans!

3. Red Velvet’s Seulgi, GFRIEND’s SinB, (G)I-DLE’s Soyeon, & Chungha – “Wow Thing”

This pick includes one pretty and talented woman, followed by another pretty and talented woman, followed by another pretty and talented woman, and rounded off by another pretty and talented woman!

Wow Thing” is a special track under SMTOWN‘s “SM STATION,” a digital project where the agency’s artists and producers can showcase fresh new sounds and collaborations.

Red Velvet‘s Seulgi, GFRIEND‘s SinB, (G)I-DLE‘s Soyeon, and soloist Chungha whip out a catchy routine while promoting self-confidence and personal growth throughout the song. If you haven’t checked this out, you’re missing out on one heck of a line-up!

4. Dreamcatcher – “Scream”

Dreamcatcher is one group to constantly keep an eye on as they churn out interesting releases and concepts that lean towards rock and pop.

Their music video for “Scream” depicts a story of being terribly wronged and the subsequent journey to seek power as a way avenge the injustice done to them. Inspired by the witch hunts that took place way back in the Middle Ages, it expresses a criticism towards careless accusations and thoughtless words that are all too easily thrown around without regard for other people’s well-being.

Each project from Dreamcatcher feels like an exciting fantasy flick that just revs you up for an adventure, so give their music a try!

5. NCT 127 – “Kick It”

Right from the beginning, NCT 127‘s “Kick It” makes you feel like you’re gearing up to fight your way through a mob and into one intense Boss Battle!

The high-energy track draws heavily from Asian-inspired sounds and visuals as it sings about emerging stronger after encountering emotional turmoil, prepping the listener to keep going even through the difficulties that come your way.

Coupled with a music video reminiscent of older Chinese martial arts movies (especially Bruce Lee films, whose name and works NCT 127 specifically references throughout the song), it’s definitely something that someone can call their “fight song.”

If you’re up for a fight, however, we don’t recommending going up against Johnny! Between his height and his alarmingly adorable flirting, it’s practically impossible for anyone to get out unscathed.

6. Stray Kids – “Any”

Any” is a B-side track off Stray Kids‘ first studio album repackage. Fast-paced with a bite, it’s far too easy to get swept away by the flow of the song as they sing about finding passions they want to do which can work out for them in the long run.

“Are you happy? (No.)
Do you like that? (No.)
Do you know what you like? (No.)”

Well… this is definitely a piece that you can enjoy jamming to while experiencing an existential crisis about finding what you want with your life.

7. (G)I-DLE – “Oh my god”

The song. The music video. (G)I-DLE.

Oh my god” is constantly on repeat and it seems like it never gets annoying to listen to as each second feels as good as the first time it was played. The sound and music video are haunting, a seductive siren call of letting yourself fall into the darkness and embrace what you’ve become.

All of the members play their parts beautifully in the video, but personally, three characters stood out the most: Minnie who’s a tormented spirit just on the verge of falling, Soyeon who revels in her descent and is thriving among the fallen, and Soojin as the one at the very core who ensnares people into tasting what’s on the other side.

Time to give the music video another view (or two)!

Let us know your thoughts by tweeting to us @whatthekpop1 or by leaving us a comment on Facebook and Instagram!

Katherine has been an ELF since 2010s. She reads just about anything and is raising a pride of demanding cats. Yi City Enthusiast. Shizun supremacist. Coca-cola guzzler. Dessert hoarder. Money grubber. Professional internet lurker. Perpetually torn between sleep and actually doing her work.

MEDIA: As Credited