Wed. Jul 24th, 2024

2020 KAFC Awards Reveals List Of Winners

The 2020 Korean Association of Film Critics Awards is almost here! As such, the list of winners was released on the 26th of October KST.

The physical ceremony for the 40th Korean Association Of Film Critics Awards will be held on November 11th at 6:30 p.m. KST. It will be hosted by actors Choi Jung Won and Kim Ha Na.

Check out the list below to see if your favorite celebrity was one of the final winners!

Best Film: “The Man Standing Next”
Lifetime Achievement in Film Award: Film Critic Kim Jong Won
Best Independent Film: Han Ga Ram/Kim Mi Rae

Best Director: Im Dae Hyung (“Moonlit Winter”)
Best New Director: Yoon Dan Bi (“Moving On”)

Best Actress: Jung Yu Mi (“Kim Ji-Young, Born 1982”)
Best Actor: Lee Byung Hun (“The Man Standing Next”)
Best Supporting Actress: Kim Mi Kyung (“Kim Ji-Young: Born 1982”)
Best Supporting Actor: Park Jung Min (“Deliver Us from Evil”)
Best New Actress: Kang Mal Geum (“Lucky Chan-Sil”)
Best New Actor: Kwak Min Gyu (“Move the Grave”)

Technical Award: Special effects (“Peninsula”)
Best Screenplay: Im Dae Hyung (“Moonlit Winter”)
Best Cinematography: Lee Hyung Duk and one other (“Peninsula”)
Best Soundtrack: Kim Hae Won (“Moonlit Winter”)

FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) Award, Korean branch: Hong Sang Su (“The Woman Who Ran”)

Korean Association of Film Critics Awards Top 10 (not ranked): “Kim Ji-Young, Born 1982,” “Moving On,” “The Man Standing Next,” “Deliver Us from Evil,” “The Woman Who Ran,” “Ashfall,” “Moonlit Winter,” “Beasts that Cling to the Straw,” “Lucky Chan-Sil,” “A French Woman”

Congratulations to all the deserving winners! What did you think about this year’s winners? Let us know your thoughts by tweeting to us @whatthekpop1

Ishani Sarkar is a self-professed learner for life, trying to find meaning and happiness in the smallest of things. She found her safe haven within the world of Korean entertainment and she’s never letting go.

Media: Movieweek (L), Naver (R)