Tue. Jul 23rd, 2024

WATCH: NCT U Steps Up To The Plate In “Universe (Let’s Play Ball)” Music Video

On December 10th at 6 p.m. KST, NCT U revealed the title song “Universe (Let’s Play Ball)” from NCT 2021’s upcoming third full-length album, Universe.

The new song is performed by members Doyoung, Jungwoo, Mark, Xiaojun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Yangyang, and Shotaro. It is a hip-hop based R&B dance song resonating with an addictive chorus and intricate multi-layered harmonies. The lyrics, penned by K-pop hitmaker KENZIE and NCT’s Mark, conveys the message “you are my world” and talks about running towards the universe which is you. 

It was composed by a team of international producers consisting of KENZIE, Dwayne “Dem Jointz” Abernathy Jr., Carlos Battey, Jhun Ryan Sewon, Breyan Stanley Isaac, Wayne Anthony Hector, Alexandru Cotoi Florin, and Marcel Botezan.

NCT’s third full-length album Universe contains a total of 13 songs, including second title track “Beautiful” performed by the 21 NCT 2021 members. Winwin is absent from this release due to him being busy with projects in China after establishing his own acting agency earlier this year. Meanwhile, Lucas is still on hiatus.

Songs by other fixed units like NCT 127’s “Earthquake”, NCT DREAM’s “Dreaming” and WayV’s “Miracle” are included on the record, as well as various NCT U member combinations further showcasing the group’s diversity and evolving freshness. Universe will be released on December 14th at 6 p.m. KST.

Check out the MV for “Universe (Let’s Play Ball)” below!

Let us know your thoughts by tweeting to us @whatthekpop1 or leaving us a comment on Facebook and Instagram!

Justin is a K-pop fan from Australia who is passionate about shining a light on underrated and lesser known groups and artists. A lover of all types of music, devoted television drama and soap opera fan, and part-time video game nerd.