“The Handmaiden,” “Goblin,” And More Take Home Awards At 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards

 “The Handmaiden,” “Goblin,” And More Take Home Awards At 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards

On May 3rd, the 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards was held in Korea. The event celebrates the best of film and television, including both cast and crew. Actress and Miss A member Suzy, as well as actor Park Joong Hoon, hosted the event. Prior to the awards show, celebrities turned out in full force and managed to stun on the red carpet event.

The two biggest awards of the night were the Grand Awards for film and television. The Grand Award For Film was won by Mr. Park Chan Wook, famous director of movies like “Oldboy” and “Lady Vengeance.” He won the Grand Award for his blockbuster hit this year, “The Handmaiden.”

The Grand Award For Television was awarded to Ms. Kim Eun Sook for her work of “Goblin: The Lonely and Great God.” The famous screenwriter is also known for her hits such as “Descendants of the Sun” and “Secret Garden.”

In addition, a special moment in the evening came when the late Kim Young Ae was posthumously awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for her many years as an actress. The lovely and famous actress passed away just one month ago due to cancer, and her son accepted the award on her behalf.

Check out the full list of winners below, as pictured in the photo above. Congratulations to all the deserving recipients!


Grand Award – Park Chan Wook (“The Handmaiden”)
Best Film – “The Wailing”
Best Director -Kim Ji Woon (“The Age of Shadows”)
Best New Director – Yeon Sang Ho (“Train to Busan”)
Best Actor – Song Kang Ho (The Age of Shadows”)
Best Actress – Son Ye Jin (“The Last Princess”)
Best Supporting Actor – Kim Ui Sung (“Train to Busan”)
Best Supporting Actress -Kim So Jin (“The King”)
Best New Actor – Ryu Jun Yeol (“The King”)
Best New Actress – Lee Sang Hee (“Our Love Story”)
Best Screenplay – Yoon Ga Eun (“The World of Us”)
Male Popularity Award – Do Kyung Soo (“My Annoying Brother”)
Female Popularity Award – YoonA (“Confidential Assignment”)


Grand Award – Kim Eun Sook (“Goblin”)
Best TV Drama – tvN’s “Dear My Friends”
Best Entertainment Program – SBS’s “My Ugly Duckling”
Best Educational/Cultural Show – JTBC’s “War of Words”
Best Director – Yoo In Sik (“Romantic Doctor Kim”)
Best Actor – Gong Yoo (“Goblin”)
Best Actress – Seo Hyun Jin (“Another Oh Hae Young”)
Best New Actor – Kim Min Suk (“Doctors”)
Best New Actress – Lee Se Young (“Laurel Tree Tailors”)
Best Screenplay – No Hee Kyung (“Dear My Friends”)
Best Variety Star (Male) – Yang Se Hyung (“Moby Dick Yang Se Hyung’s Short Review”)
Best Variety Star (Female) – Park Na Rae (“I Live Alone”)
Male Popularity Award – Park Bo Gum (“Moonlight Drawn by Clouds”)
Female Popularity Award – Kim Yoo Jung (“Moonlight Drawn by Clouds”)
Best Style Award – Kim Ha Neul (“On the Way to the Airport”)

Media: As Credited

Related News

%d bloggers like this: