IU And WANNA ONE Top Winners At 7th Gaon Chart Music Awards

The 7th Gaon Chart Music Awards has revealed their winners for 2017!

On February 14, the annual awards show was held at the Jamsil Arena in Seoul to reward the hard work and outstanding achievements of those in the music industry over the past year.

The event was hosted by Super Junior’s Leeteuk and TWICE’s Dahyun. Apart from the awards, it featured many excellent performances by nominees in the different categories for that evening. IU, Akdong Musician, WANNA ONE, SEVENTEEN, NU’EST W, and GOT7 were among the artists to perform.

Covering categories from songs, artists, producers, choreographers, stylists, and more, the awards show truly shine the spotlight on all the many people who work hard in the music industry. IU was one of the biggest winners of the night, taking home four different awards. The team behind her album Palette also won Producer of the Year. The other top winner of the night was WANNA ONE, also taking home four awards.

Other big winners included BTS, SEVENTEEN, and TWICE.

Check out the full list of winners below!

Artist of the Year (Physical Album – Quarterly)
1st Quarter: BTS’s “You Never Walk Alone”
2nd Quarter: SEVENTEEN’s “Al1”
3rd Quarter: BTS’s “Love Yourself: Her”
4th Quarter: WANNA ONE’s “1-1=0 (Nothing Without You)”

Song of the Year (Digital Music – Monthly)
January: Akdong Musician
February: TWICE
March: IU
April: IU
May: PSY
June: G-Dragon
July: EXO
August: Sunmi
September: SECHSKIES
October: Epik High
November: WANNA ONE
December: TWICE

Album Producer Award
Fave Entertainment for IU’s “Palette”

Indie Discovery of the Year Award

Hip-hop Discovery of the Year Award

R&B Discovery of the Year Award

Ballad Discovery of the Year Award
Hwang Chi Yeol

Hot Performance of the Year Award

Long-Run Song of the Year Award

Lyricist of the Year Award

Composer of the Year Award

World Hallyu Star Award

World Hallyu New Artist Award

K-pop Contribution Of This Year & Popular Singer of This Year Award
Yoon Jong Shin

International Pop Song Award
Ed Sheeran’s “Shape of You”

International Rising Star Award
Shawn Mendes

New Artist of the Year (Song category) Award
Woo Won Jae

New Artist of the Year (Album category) Award
Wanna One

Choreographer of the Year Award
Lia Kim

Stylist of the Year Award
Kim Ye Jin and Choi Kyung Won

Fan Vote Popularity Award (Female)
Girls’ Generation’s Taeyeon

Fan Vote Popularity Award (Male)
Wanna One

Performers of the Year Award (Chorus)
Kang Tae Woo

Performer of the Year Award (Musical Instrument)
Lee Seung Yeob

Congratulations to all the deserving winners!

Media: As Credited

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply....

%d bloggers like this: