BTS, Wanna One, BLACKPINK, EXO & More Win At 27th Seoul Music Awards

The 27th Seoul Music Awards, presented annually by Sports Seoul, is an event to award outstanding achievements in the music industry of South Korea.

The prestigious event was held in Gocheok Sky Dome with Super Junior’s Heechul, Shin Dong Yup, and Kim So Hyun as hosts of the night.

The grand prize award went to BTS, a group who has seen immense global growth this year due largely to their exposure in the American music market. In addition, Big Hit Entertainment’s CEO and founder, Bang Shi Hyuk, took him the award for Producer of the Year.

Of special note was the fact that SMTOWN group EXO took home the most prizes of the evening, helping them set a record as the Kpop artists with the most Seoul Music Awards ever. However, the group was in Japan for promotions and unable to accept their awards in person.

The Bonsang awards, otherwise known as the main prize awards, went to Red Velvet, NU’EST W, Super Junior, BTOB, BTS, BLACKPINK, EXO, GOT7, Bolbbalgan4, SEVENTEEN, TWICE and Wanna One.

Also of note was the fact that Lee Taemin of SHINee won the Popularity Award. However, as the singer has yet to make a public appearance since the death of fellow member Kim Jonghyun, Taemin’s SMTOWN senior artist Leeteuk accepted the award on his behalf and read a thank you letter from Taemin for the award. He also expressed his thanks to all those who had been supporting him lately and made sure to make a special mention of Jonghyun, as well as the rest of his members. This marks Taemin’s second win for the Popularity Award. In addition, he has received the Popularity Award four times as a member of SHINee, the group who took home the award last year.

Check out the full list of winners below!

Grand Prize (Daesang):

Bonsang Award:
Red Velvet
Super Junior
Wanna One

Record of the Year:
“Palette’’- IU

Record of the Year in Digital Release:
“Like it” – Yoon Jong Shin

New Artist Award:
Wanna One
Kim Chung Ha

R&B/Ballad Award:

OST Award:
“I Will Go To You Like The First Snow’’ Goblin OST – Ailee

Tik Tok Female Dance Performance Award:

Tik Tok Male Dance Performance Award:
NCT 127

Hallyu Special Award:

Fandom School Award:

Popularity Award:
Lee Taemin

Producer of the Year:
Bang Shi Hyuk

Band Award:

Discovery of the Year Award:

Judges’ Award:
Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter

Congratulations to all the winners!

ging1030 is a multi-fandom fan of Kpop since 2010. She enjoys watching Asian dramas and variety shows like “Running Man”. She is an avid fan of Song triplets and Song Joong Ki.  For her, Kdrama is life. They are her inspirations in life so she can live on and do what her heart desires!

MEDIA: Seoul Music Awards

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply....

%d bloggers like this: